Just my Facebook note: “Starting Over”

Screen Shot 2017-07-31 at 11.49.40 PM
“Starting Over”
From the time we were young, there have always been endings and beginnings. Pictured above is my first day of kindergarten (I thought my mom would like that one . Now, I sit here in Tallahassee as an FSU Alumna. It is a place I have truly grown to love. Yet, my boxes are packed and I am moving out to Nashville tomorrow to work as a pediatric nurse.
Please know: I don’t tell you that to be a “humble bragger”. I genuinely want my good friends and family to know where I will be heading next. I also want you all to know that yes- I understand a new place is exciting and Nashville is so much fun and so on. However, this next step isn’t going to be perfect. It is a scary thought that I have had just a little over a month to process this move, to be moving far from home, and to start over again. But I am still thankful- so so thankful.
It is 100% cliche… but it has been a roller coaster of a ride- and I mean that as in the last month and the last 4 years. I actually really don’t like roller coasters because they scare me, but I think it’s a good way to describe my journey.
With some uphills, downhills, tears, fear, weird twists and turns, gripping tightly to what I think I can control, raising my arms, laughter, shutting my eyes tightly because I don’t want to look down, and deciding to open them and just look at the beauty around- I would say that every part of a rollercoaster can seriously be a parallel to my college experience.
Some might see me on social media and think that I have had it easy. It might appear that good grades come easy, that I have a good head on my shoulders, that I have been “wildly successful” in life thus far. But there have been extremely trying seasons, I have made my big mistakes too, and my success is not measured by this world standard of success. I would not want to show you all my transcripts as there are a few times I have had to say “C’s get degrees”. There are times that I have had to go to professors over and over again to increase my test grades by maybe 2 points each time to just barely pass the class. If anyone knows test anxiety or the feeling of inadequacy in school- it is me. I would not want to share with you the times I have fallen short, but I gladly will if you ever need the reminder that we are all just human and that is OK.
I want to make it known that the Lord has consistently and faithfully guided me with His very sure hand, and he will continue to do so. My faults have been revealed to me during emotional weeks, classes, friendships, relationships, and stress. Yet, my strengths have also been shown to me in those very same situations which I am very thankful for His grace and love in that way.
The support I receive from family, friends, mentors, ministers, and educators is support that I do not take for granted. Not everyone has that kind of support unfortunately… but I hope to extend the love of Jesus Christ that I have been shown in every beginning, ending, and in between to those that have never experienced it on my next adventure. I am excited to be a nurse- to love the kids that don’t know love, to love the fearful parents, my co-workers who have lost 3 patients in a week, and so on. It is a huge responsibility and I hope and pray for the humility, bravery, and gentleness to love well and to be His good and faithful servant no matter what selfish tendencies may arise.
I have a new address and would love to share it with those who still like snail mail! Please feel free to call, text, or private message me for that! Love you all
“Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins. Offer hospitality to one another without grumbling. Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms. If anyone speaks, they should do so as one who speaks the very words of God. If anyone serves, they should do so with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. To him be the glory and the power for ever and ever. Amen.” -1 Peter 4:8-11
Leave a Reply

