TGIF

Thank God it’s Friday!!!!!

Here is a Thursday in the life of Allie:

I woke up and decided to play my new favorite song “God made girls” by Raelynn on repeat. I checked the weather and decided it would warm up enough to roll my jeans up into capris. Then I realized my legs were due for a shave. So… the obvious solution was to only shave half of my calf. I also realized I put on my underwear backwards, so that got fixed right before I walked out of my door. When I got outside, I decided my half shaved calf was cold so I rolled down my capris back into jeans… now my calf is half shaved for no reason… whatever. Life happens.

Lesson: Don’t be lazy when I shave and just shave like a normal lady. Being a girl is fun (even if shaving is on the to-do list).

I took my first sign language test!!!! I think I did really well. It’s my favorite class, I am in disbelief that I almost did not take it out of fear of failing it.

Lesson: BE FEARLESS. (It’s written 365 times in the Bible to not be afraid… I don’t think Jesus could be more clear)

After my classes were over, I came home and ate all of my carrots (with Publix hummus, of course) and had great conversation with my roomies while finishing my Microbiology assignments. YAY!

Lesson: Don’t wait until the day before something expires to eat it. Listen intently in conversations. Not procrastinating is nice.

Since God gifted me with the ability to stay up late, I really enjoy doing this outreach event with my campus ministry. We pass out free hot dogs and waters to people coming out of a popular bar late on Thursday nights. It’s an awesome time to just love the people on my campus and have fruitful conversations.

Funny story: A well-mannered freshman guy, who came from the bar, politely interrupted my conversation with a girl to tell me that I was really cute and that he wanted my number. I giggled/panicked/said thank you, but kept my number to myself. He was persistent, brave, and REALLY wanted my number. I could tell he really wanted it because he had his phone out and ready for me to type it in. I thanked him for being so direct and brave but said I would only add him on Facebook. He didn’t have a Facebook… I kind of panicked again and told him I am not big on giving out my number to guys the first time I meet them. He finally asked for my name (interesting order of his questions). I introduced myself, asked for his name, and inquired if he had met my friend next to me…who just so happens to be a guy (this was a “SAVE ME” tactic). My friend told this freshman guy that I was his girlfriend. SO, I have a fake boyfriend now. JUST IN TIME FOR VALENTINE’S DAY. But, this freshman guy got my fake boyfriend’s number and he might come to church with us on Sunday (which is awesome)… but this would mean we need to figure out if we should fake break-up or fake stay together. The plot thickens.

Lesson: Being single is fun. I’ve never had a fake boyfriend before. Go with the flow.

Lesson God taught me today: Celebrate my independence daily but live in complete dependency on the eternal God. Both independency and dependency are good if Christ is at the center.

Leave a Reply

