Livin’ the dream.

A lot of friends read my first post and told me they really enjoyed it. Thank you for the encouragement to keep writing!

This morning, (well, yesterday morning, because I am writing this past midnight… it’s not unusual for me to be up so late) I had what a lot of people would consider a bad morning.

  1. I woke up later than I would have liked to.
  2. I spilled a good amount of OJ while pouring myself a glass to get my vitamin C in for the day. (I have to boost my immune system, because there is some nasty cold/sickness/flu thing going around and I want no part of it)
  3. When I got in the shower, I realized my new body wash was in my bathroom drawer. So, soaking wet, I stepped out of my shower (avoiding my pile of dirty clothes… which my mom would be somewhat upset at me for) to get the soap. Then, I got back into the shower, to almost use it as shampoo. I saved myself… wiped the body wash on my loofah and saved it for later. Later, meaning, for when I conditioned my hair. (I soap up while my hair conditions… shower routines are no joke)
  4. I was also having a weird outfit day. I had to change my shirt twice. I was also not too crazy about the only clean pair of appropriate denim pants that I wore today. But I was in a rush, so I had little time to explore other options. I was in a rush because I had this gut feeling that parking would be terrible. My roommate reassured me before she left that I would be okay if I used our regular parking garage. Then, she texted me when she got there to let me know that it was actually pretty full. In a panic, I decided not to make oatmeal and grab a protein bar instead. I was out the door by 11:09 AM. My class didn’t start until 12:30 PM.
  5. I was low on gas. I checked one parking garage… and another… and another (driving to the top of each one, and back down). Checked my gas again… then started praying I would have enough to just find a spot. I checked three lots, maybe glanced at another. Still nothing. Checked the time… 11:45 AM. Made a terrified face. Checked my gas… nearing the E. I told myself that if I ran out of gas, I would e-mail my lab TA and plead not to be kicked out for not showing up on the first day…and then declare January 13th, 2015 as the worst day of the year so far. Then, I checked what felt like my only other option… Spirit Way Garage (which is on the opposite side of campus of where my classes were that day). I pulled in the garage to find about 10 other cars circling around for spots, too.

BUT, God must have heard my prayer. I saw a girl on the second floor walking to her car to leave. I followed her, she pulled out, and I exclaimed “Thank you, Jesus!” for this spot because it was 11:50 PM now and I NEEDED to get to my very first Anatomy and Physiology II Lab early.

I sat in my car to take a deep breath and decided that my blog today would most likely be about silver linings because of my incessant positive thoughts that kept me sane.

The (slightly forced) thoughts running through my mind this morning as this “bad day” unfolded:

  1. I got extra rest that others would have killed for.
  2. I am so fortunate to have OJ to drink in my fridge.
  3. Not everyone is able to even take a shower every day.
  4. I am fortunate to have a closet FULL of clothes (cute ones, if I do say so myself).
  5. It is a blessing to have food to eat every day.
  6. Parking (if you leave your house anytime between 10:30 AM and 1 PM) SUCKS. But, at least I know that now and I DO have a car to drive (with just enough gas in the tank).
  7. Spirit Way Garage makes for a far walk (especially in the cold morning mist), but it’s good exercise and it’s not freezing temperatures. I’m grateful because I can walk and I am not handicapped… even though I longed for those handicapped parking spots.
  8. I am privileged to get an incredible education at a wonderful university.

Quotes to ponder on:

“Joy is not dependent upon situations or things. It is dependent upon how we perceive those situations and things.” Leticia Rae.

“Every day may not be good… But there is something good in every day.”

Challenge:

Be grateful, no matter how difficult, and have a GREAT day.

One thought on “Livin’ the dream.

  1. Hi Allie,
    That must have been a difficult day for you but it looks like God was on your side! I have the same problem with parking and very familiar with the parking garages. I always leave about an hour early and still barely make class. I just wanted you to know you are not alone. I probably the worst luck out of anyone. I was late to many of my classes because of parking no miracles usually occur when I am driving. Just keep writing because I love reading your works! They are very inspirational and very real!
    Regards,
    Mark

    Like

Leave a Reply

